Crazy About Hooks!

Standard

Miss Kelli at  Dot Dot Smile  has done it again!  

After I ordered, and received, the coolest Tardis knitting needles, and my awesome, custom clown Tunisian crochet hook, I asked for a new, larger Tunisian hook, and asked her to surprise me. 

She sure did, with this delightful, peaceful blue swan.   I have named her, “Willa,” and she sits sweetly atop a cool, smooth bamboo hook.  I swear, the work goes smoother just because she’s there!

CameraZOOM-20130504015520361

And that’s not all!  You see, I just love clowns.  The sillier the better!  And, I adore cows.  So, what’s a girl to do?  I asked Kelli if she could swing a custom hook, a cow…clown.

YES!  A cow dressed as a clown!  Kelli told me she had a ball making this, and I can’t explain how incredible the work is.  Look at what this amazingly talented clay artist came up with for me!

CameraZOOM-20130504020146532

Isn’t he Da Bomb!?!?!?  I named him, “Bill.”  

It’s a thing….

Bill sits atop a size, “J” bamboo hook, regular length, and has a hand-fashioned, hand-painted grip.  He’s super smooth and comfy to work with, surprisingly well-balanced.  I’ll tell you, this gal has faced every challenge, with a smile on her face, and sent me wonderful hooks and needles.

Here’s some more detail of , “Bill.”

CameraZOOM-20130504015538210

CameraZOOM-20130504015647678

CameraZOOM-20130504015706609

Sometimes I find myself sitting with the work idle in my hands because I can not stop staring at the hooks.

Here are Bill and Willa, hanging out together in the yard…

CameraZOOM-20130505181345263

A little detail…

CameraZOOM-20130505181411240

And finally, my three newest crochet buddies, together.  They make stitching even more fun than ever before!

CameraZOOM-20130504015224310

Now, stay tuned, Kids, because it isn’t over.  When I sent my biggest challenge yet to Kelli, I told her not to feel bad if it was too much to ask.  Her answer?  She says she loves my challenges, they’re fun to work, and something completely unexpected and new.

So, she can’t wait to immortalize Chauncey and Earl in Sculpey, on the ends of crochet hooks!!!!

Stay tuned!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 responses »

  1. LOL., Brandi, you’re one of several people that expressed that very same sentiment! Clowns can be creepy. I’m glad that Kelli, the hook artist, is on the same wavelength as I am, and went with innocent, cartoonish clowns.

  2. I;ve seen them, few and far between, because I started looking for them several years ago. By “few and far,” I mean, “ONE.” I have an old resin sculpture of a clown cow, have not seen another thing like it since.

Leave a Reply

