My New “Thing”

Standard

You all know I have an affinity for crochet hooks, right?  I love them.  I study them, collect the new and different as much as I can, go ga-ga for vintage hooks, make Sculpey comfort handles for them, and keep my favorites (Susan Bates aluminum hooks with bamboo handles) within easy reach.

I also love, love, love anything and everything bamboo!  Smooth, warm, light, versatile and sustainable, bamboo is the way to go, from garden poles to walking sticks (made from garden poles), to paper, to yarn, and…you guessed it…to crochet hooks.

I recently got my paws on a free pattern for a great head band, which I’m working in Paton’s Silk Bamboo (there’s that amazing bamboo again), a DK weight wonder of a yarn.  It’s so soft and smooth, so light, I just love to run my fingers across the ball!  To work this yarn, though, I needed a size F or G Tunisian hook.  Not a long one, but a Tunisian, all the same.  Unfortunately, I do not have, nor could I find, that size Tunisian hook.  

BUT…I did find a sweet set of 3.75 (size F) bamboo knitting needles!

So, I got out a coping saw blade, a retractable razor box cutter tool, and some emery boards, and set to work.

My first two attempts resulted in snapping off the business end of the new hook, but I persevered, and now, after having only lost about an inch or so of length, I have a lovely, smooth size-F Tunisian hook!  It’s a shorter one,  seven inches from the tip of the hook to the end knob, perfect for a small Tunisian project like a head band.

I whittled and sanded, smoothed and formed, tore the sand paper off of the emery boards to get into the tiny inner surfaces, and the result is a smooth, warm, sassy looking hook that is a joy to work with.

hand made tunisian 01

Here it is, with its knitting counterpart, which might become a hook, or might stay a knitting needle for a while.  They look nice together!

hand made tunisian 02

As you can see, I didn’t lose too much length.  The hook measures 7″ from tip to knob, the needle measures 8.5 inches from tip to knob.

hand made tunisian 04

It came out with a sweet in-line head!

hand made tunisian 03

The depth of this hook is perfect for my DK weight yarn, and so smooth, I’m working with it without having used any sealer or wax.  

hand made tunisian 05

And here’s the test…it works like a dream. No snags!

Yup…I have a new “thing…”  and a yard full of oak, tulip and magnolia sticks!

Stay tuned….

 

4 responses »

  1. Why, thank you, My Dear! You know that now, I’m scouting the yard for dead wood, sticks from the tulip trees and such. There’s a nice pile of seasoned Magnolia trimmings out there, I wonder how they would carve!

Leave a Reply

