Introducing The 2006 Chevrolet 1.6-Liter Greenhouse

Standard

Hooray, April in Connecticut!

Last week’s unseasonable warmth, sunshine, temperatures in the upper seventies and dangerously dry conditions have given way to what things are supposed to look like around here.  This week, temperatures have plummeted into the fifties.  It’s been windy, chilly and wet.  The wet has pretty much passed through, leaving behind bright sunshine during the day, and, of course, frost warnings at night.  

It has been a picture perfect April-in-Connecticut week.

I, of course, have baby plants out there.

What’s a mother to do?  Well, like any mother, you bring the kids inside in crappy weather.  and that brings us to the biggest plus I have encountered in container gardening…I can.   

The peas and baby radishes will be alright.   They’re up for this stuff.  The beans aren’t up yet.  The baby cauliflower, though…they’re laying down a bit.   This time, I just didn’t want to haul all those plants into the dark chilly basement.

 So…introducing the all-new 2006 Chevrolet 1.6-liter greenhouse!

With plenty of space to house six cauliflower buckets, two blueberry bushes and a hose…

 

 It will still get 35 MPH, wile keeping the babies warm and toasty! Heck, I even have grocery room back there, if the plants wanted to go on a road trip!

 The blueberries are exceptionally happy.  The let loose with some more blooms today.

 

 They all camped out in the car all last night, all day today, and the sun through the windows perked them up nicely.

I have two more heads of cauliflower in the ground, which went under pop bottles…and also perked right up with the sun through the plastic “green houses.”

 

 The corn, which I expected to find fried, held up really well.

 

 I’m leaving them alone tonight, and will see what the temps are going to do tomorrow night.  I can wrap them up in bubble wrap, if necessary.  I’m just gassed that I have all these little corn babies popping!  

The Garlics are fine, will hold up through these overnight temperatures.  

Reggie is back Inside.  No way I’m leaving a pregnant parsley out in the cold!

 

Will you look at this guy!  He’s really getting his seed on.  This is the first time I’ve ever done this, so I need to ask Mike if there will be little flowers.

 

He’s got bunches and bunches of these seed things happening, and more forming every day.  I’ll let him back into the sunshine tomorrow, too.  Tomorrow night…he comes back inside.

In seasons past, I have had to bring other plants inside, when frost threatened, even coming into May.  I have hooks in the ceiling of this porch, just for hanging topsy turvy tomato plants, to protect them from frost.  Yes, yes…there is a definite plus to container gardening.  If need be, I can bring them in.  The down side?  Topsy turvy planters filled with moise soil weigh…a lot.

So, Reggie is hanging out with the seedlings.

 

The seedlings are still a little short, and that’s okay!  They’re getting nice and stocky.  When I started thinning, I did not pull out the smallest ones.  I took the tallest ones, the ones that looked like they were in danger of getting a little leggy.  Now, the remaining ones..and I do have more thinning to do…are getting their second set of leaves, and are still short, getting nice and stocky.

Hot peppers on the left, and don’t they take their time germinating!  In the middle, a sugar baby watermelon and a white cucumber, and on the right, more hotties, tomatoes, herbs, and gold bar melons.

If you’ve never heard of Gold Bar Melon Hybrid…you really want to get to Park Seeds and try them.  They grow like a cucumber.  They taste like a melon.  They are spectacular. 

It’s going to be a great season.

The boys are out on the porch, too!  They wanted to play with Reggie, and keep him warm.  We grabbed a blanket for the three of them, and they’re all camping out on the porch.

Like I told you…don’t let the parsley fib on you.  He loves these guys.

 

“We can keep Reggie warm all night!”

Tomorrow, I’ll send the boys Outside to play in the sun with their big green buddy.  I’ve got a feeling he won’t mind so much.

 

 

22 responses »

  1. I’m spinning and dyeing more yarn! I’m after more of that cool ice blue, some green (lemon-lime kool aid) and some pink (pink lemonade,) as well as…I’ll attempt it, anywa,…a “painted” skein. will post my adventure for that one! All of these new colors will, in small doses, be worked into the felted bag.
    The garden is coming along swimmingly! I have to get my camera going out there for an update. Just picked three ripe “Schmegg” tomatoes, a beautiful red and orange striped tomato. Yummy, too!

  2. OOOHHHHH iam looking forward to seeing how your freeform bag works out xx
    Your plants are looking splended. Very handsome guys in your garden xx

  3. Yes, that’s what I gathered from my little bit of research. We call it a hose. They ban watering here, too, in droughts. Arizona, California…those areas get watering bans all the time. They allow for vegetables, but ban watering of lawns. Funny, around here, golf courses seem to be exempt…

  4. Sorry i believe its called a garden hose in the u.s.a. every year we have a ban on using water in the more rural parts of britain. Growing things can be a struggle but i love looking at your lovely babies xx

  5. Hehehehe…pop up Reggie bearing seeds with his intrepid helpers, Chauncey and Earl…Colorful illustrations of cauliflower growth (photo with a dose of toon-it plugin in Paint Shop Pro!) and wait! I have corn started, and I’m gathering the necessities for a scare crow!

  6. Cool. With Irish crochet, it’s all about who set up the instructions. Same goes for all, which is why symbol patterns got so popular. There’s no language barrier.

  7. lol, you are not the first person to suggest that! My dear friend, Mike, aka “Garden Guru” has suggested that, and we’ve fantasized a children’s gardening book with pop up pages, illustrations, the whole gambit. It can happen!

  8. Thank you! LOL, my brother is smitten with Chauncey because he looks a little like a punk. What’s a hose pipe, and why are they banned where you are???

    I looked it up. We call it a watering ban here. I’m expecting that later in the season, looking into making a trash can rain barrel.
    It’s hard to figure, with people drowning and everything getting swept away by the flooding, that your water tables will still be down. The problem with flooding is that it does damage, horrific damage, and little to no actual good. The water just runs off, and doesn’t really “soak in,” so the town that just got wiped out is still technically suffering a drought.

  9. I love this post. I love the pictures of your little babies. The weather here has been awfull! Torrential rain but we have a hose pipe ban? ???? Xx

  10. Oh, I have stories. Spinach flats that panicked at the thought of being eaten up…summer squash that had personal growth issues, a dahlia that had an enormous crush on an eggplant, and a garden full of wise-cracking tomato plants. That was my first “big” garden, now three seasons behind. I’ll have to dig them up and tell the tales.

  11. Hey Wendy lessons started, I want you to colaborate with me, if you think you can explain it better please do….hope to hear from you….

  12. Thanks! I’ve been doing that for a while, forgot all about it, and got reminded from a great post up at Tiny Oklahoma Garden. Sweet WordPress site, very informative!

Leave a Reply

