Science Experiment

Standard

I’m growing garlic in my house…I hope.

Got my garlic, wound up with plain old American garlic.  I wanted to plant elephant garlic, but…have you been shopping?  Have you priced elephant garlic?  Wow.

Elephant garlic was priced at $3.49 for the little wrapped package.  It weighed about a half an ounce.  American garlic was priced at $3.49 per POUND.  And it’s American.  ‘Nuff said.

I did a little research, via The Gods of Google…every site I hit said, “plant them in a deep pot.”

So, outside I went, grabbed one of the leftover containers I bought at the end of the season (superb bargain, by the way!)

and drilled drainage holes, lined it with busted up dead clay pot shards for better drainage…it’s a process, I’ll tell you, but one well worth the effort.  Filled it up to within six inches of the top with my soil mix of potting soil, toss in a few scoops of peat moss, toss in a few scoops of cow…mixed it all up, and planted my garlic cloves.

I started with a dozen, then went back inside for six more cloves.  This container is really huge.

The Google Gods said I can plant them pretty close, but not touching.  I went with a circle, then another, judging by the size of the bulbs I started with, to make sure they have enough room to do their thing.  The soil in the next picture really is that dark.  Mike says, the darker the better!

Now all I have to do is rob some soil from one of the raised beds (it was fresh potting mix in September) and top it off, give it some water.

And wait.

4 responses »

  1. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays..

  2. I just couldn’t depart your web site before suggesting that I really enjoyed the standard info a person provide for your visitors? Is gonna be back often in order to check up on new posts

Leave a Reply

